UAE resumed flights operations from 12 African countries

UAE resumed flights operations from 12 African countries

RIYADH: The UAE announced on Wednesday that it is resuming all inbound flights for national and international carriers and transit passengers from 12 African countries, state news agency WAM reported.

The General Civil Aviation Authority and the National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority said the travel ban has been lifted for passengers coming from Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

The authorities said that the entry measures for travellers coming in from Uganda, Ghana and Rwanda have also been updated, and the decisions come into force at 2:30 p.m. local time on Saturday.

All arrivals coming from these countries are required to present a negative PCR test obtained within 48 hours of their departure, take a Rapid Test at the departure airport, and another PCR test upon arrival, while adhering to all relevant precautionary and preventive COVID-19 measures.

Those suffering COVID-19 symptoms are advised not to travel, the authorities said.